Sleep Doctor independently selects the products we test. We may earn a commission if you buy through the links on our site.

Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress Review: Our Expert Take

UPDATED

Written by Katie Kottemann

Reviewed by Dr. Michael Breus

Expert Tested

Table of Contents

Mattress Review

Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress

Details

  • Type: Foam

  • Firmness: Medium Soft (4)

  • Sizes: Twin, Twin XL, Full, Short Queen, Queen, King, California King

  • Price Range: $169 – $549

  • Warranty: 10 Year, Limited

Highlights

  • Four height options with varying levels of firmness
  • Infusions of green tea extract and charcoal designed to fight odor and moisture
  • Budget-friendly price

Drawbacks

  • No models provide enough support for sleepers over 230 pounds
  • Not ideal for hot sleepers, as the foam layers may retain body heat
  • Deep contouring could inhibit movement for people with mobility issues

Sleep Doctor’s Take: Zinus Green Tea Mattress

The Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress is an all-foam bed with a top layer infused with green tea, castor seed oil, and charcoal. Four height options offer a range of firmness levels. We found that every model is affordable and offers good to very good pressure relief and motion isolation.

Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress: An Introduction

Zinus began in 1979 as a tent-making company in South Korea. In 2014, the brand expanded into the online mattress space, and today it offers a range of low-priced mattresses, as well as products for the bedroom, living room, and outdoor spaces.

We’ll focus on the Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress, an all-foam bed with four height options. Shoppers can choose from profiles of 6, 8, 10, or 12 inches. Each version contains a combination of memory foam and polyfoam wrapped in a polyester cover.

We’ll cover the differences between each height option, including each model’s performance, construction, and pricing. We’ll also touch on the brand’s sleep trial and warranty.

How We Review

Our in-house testing team evaluates every mattress using our standardized testing methodology. Rigorous lab testing and hands-on research provide us with a detailed overview of each model. We bring this information to you to help you find the right mattress.

What’s It Like to Sleep On the Zinus Green Tea Mattress?

The Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress offers a plush top layer that gives the distinct body hug of memory foam. This mattress offers a different experience depending on the height option chosen. With each increase in the bed’s height, the thickness of the foam layers and the level of softness also increase.

The 6-inch mattress rates firm (7) on our 10-point firmness scale. It provides a sturdy base with a surface that offers little sink. The 8-inch option is medium firm (6), meaning it has some additional give. 

The 10- and 12-inch beds have a vastly different feel than the thinner models. Our testers rated them as medium soft (4), noting that they provide more contouring with a plusher surface that allows you to sink deeper into the bed.

We found that the thicker models provide very good pressure relief and motion isolation, while the thinnest option has an edge in temperature control.

Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress

Pros

  • Thicker models offer a mixture of contouring and support for deep pressure relief
  • A good option for couples due to enhanced motion isolation
  • Performed best for side sleepers under 130 pounds

Cons

  • Plush foam layers may limit movement
  • All-foam construction compresses at the edges
  • May not be firm enough for sleepers over 230 pounds

Sleeping Positions, Body Weight, and Firmness

The firmness of the Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress varies by height. The 10- and 12-inch beds rate as medium soft (4) on our 10-point firmness scale. They offer close contouring and a plush surface. The 8-inch model is medium firm (6) and the 6-inch mattress is firm (7).

Mattress firmness can determine your level of comfort and support. That’s why our testing team includes people with various body types and preferred sleep positions. Based on our tests, side sleepers under 130 pounds were the best fit for the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress. In general, we found that sleepers over 230 pounds need a firmer bed with additional support.

Side Sleepers

Model Firmness
Rating
Side Sleepers
Under 130 lbs.
Side Sleepers
130-230 lbs.
Side Sleepers
Over 230 lbs.
6″Firm (7)3/52/51/5
8″Medium Firm (6)5/53/52/5
10″Medium Soft (4)5/53/52/5
12″Medium Soft (4)5/53/52/5

Our testers who sleep on their sides found that the 8-, 10-, and 12-inch models provided the best balance of cushioning and structure, especially for those under 230 pounds. In general, side sleepers need a mattress that allows the shoulders and hips to sink into the bed while still feeling supported. This helps to keep the spine aligned and limits pressure points.

Back Sleepers

Model Firmness
Rating
Back Sleepers
Under 130 lbs.
Back Sleepers
130-230 lbs.
Back Sleepers
Over 230 lbs.
6″Firm (7)3/52/51/5
8″Medium Firm (6)3/52/52/5
10″Medium Soft (4)3/53/52/5
12″Medium Soft (4)5/53/52/5

Back sleepers require a mattress that supports their lower back and prevents it from dipping too far into the bed. While this generally translates to a firmer mattress being a better fit, most of our testers felt that the firmer 6- and 8-inch versions of the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress are too thin to provide adequate support. By contrast, back sleepers under 130 pounds enjoyed the thick comfort system and pressure relief of the 12-inch option.

Stomach Sleepers

Model Firmness
Rating
Stomach Sleepers
Under 130 lbs.
Stomach Sleepers
130-230 lbs.
Stomach Sleepers
Over 230 lbs.
6″Firm (7)2/51/51/5
8″Medium Firm (6)3/52/51/5
10″Medium Soft (4)3/52/51/5
12″Medium Soft (4)3/52/51/5

Stomach sleepers generally need a highly supportive mattress that helps the midsection resist sinking into the bed. Compared to other testers, our stomach sleepers received the least amount of support from the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress. Only testers under 130 pounds found an adequate level of support from the 8-, 10-, and 12-inch models. Read more: Best Mattresses for Stomach Sleepers.

Our Performance Ratings

Our testing team assesses each mattress in several important performance criteria. Each bed is rated using our five-point scale, where a rating of 1 is poor and a rating of 5 is excellent.

Pressure Relief

Rating: 3/5 (6″, 8″), 4/5 (10″, 12″)

Along with motion isolation, pressure relief is the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress’ greatest strength. In particular, the 10-inch and 12-inch options include a thicker comfort system that contours closely to the body and reduces pressure points. The sturdy polyfoam support core also helps the spine stay in a neutral position.

Temperature Neutrality

Rating: 3/5 (6″), 2/5 (8″, 10″, 12″)

One disadvantage of all-foam beds is their tendency to trap body heat. This can lead to a warm night’s sleep, particularly for hot sleepers. While the 6-inch mattress offers slightly more temperature control because of its thinner memory foam layer, the thicker options may retain too much heat for some sleepers.

Motion Isolation

Rating: 3/5 (6″), 4/5 (8″, 10″, 12″)

A benefit of a thick top layer of memory foam is its ability to absorb vibrations. This helps to isolate motion, making bed partners less likely to feel each other’s movements. The thicker comfort systems in the higher-profile 8-, 10-, and 12-inch models make them very good at isolating motion, which can lead to fewer nighttime disturbances.

Edge Support

Rating: 2/5

The lack of significant reinforcement around its perimeter makes the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress prone to compressing at the edges. Our testers found that sitting or lying near the edge of the bed caused it to sag under their body weight. This can make getting in and out of bed or using the entire sleep surface more challenging. Those who rely on the bed’s edges for assistance or relaxation may want to seek out a bed with a reinforced perimeter. 

Durability

Rating: 2/5 (6″, 8″), 3/5 (10″, 12″)

The average lifespan of an all-foam mattress is around six to seven years. Our testers estimate that the 10- and 12-inch models will meet that estimate because of their thicker and more robust construction. The two thinner models may fall short of the average because they contain slimmer layers of dense foam. Keep in mind that these are estimates, and a mattress’ lifespan also depends on proper use as well as the sleeper’s body size and sleep position. 

Ease of Movement

Rating: 2/5

The foam layers in the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress offer deep contouring that can inhibit movement. Our testers found that changing positions and getting in and out of bed required more effort because of the conforming layer of memory foam. Mattresses with coils, such as the Zinus Pressure Relief Euro Top iCoil Hybrid, generally offer more responsiveness and facilitate easier movement.

Sex

Rating: 2/5

We gave this bed a fair rating for sex. While the memory foam comfort layer provides traction that some couples may find useful, its all-foam construction tends to inhibit movement, making it more challenging to change positions. It also tends to trap body heat, which could cause some partners to overheat during sex. In general, mattresses with good bounce and low heat retention rate well for sex. 

Off-Gassing

Rating: 3/5 (6″), 2/5 (8″, 10″, 12″)

All compressed mattresses that contain synthetic foams have some level of off-gassing. This chemical-like smell is caused by the bed releasing volatile organic compounds (VOCs) after it is unboxed. The thicker 8-, 10-, and 12-inch options exhibited slightly more off-gassing during our testing than the 6-inch model. If you’re sensitive to smells, allow your mattress to air out for a few days in a well-ventilated room.

What Is the Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress Made Of?

The Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress is constructed of three layers of foam. The thickness of each layer varies by height option. All models are encased in a polyester cover with a jacquard weave. 

The bed’s comfort system begins with a top layer of memory foam that’s infused with green tea extract, castor seed oil, and ActivCharcoal, which is Zinus’ term for particles derived from purified charcoal. These ingredients are intended to help maintain the bed’s freshness by resisting moisture buildup and fighting odor. 

The second comfort layer is soft polyfoam that’s designed to transition between the conforming memory foam and the dense support core. The Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress’ support core is a thick layer of high-density polyfoam. It gives the bed a stable base, adds some edge support, and helps to prevent deep sinkage.

ModelCover MaterialComfort LayersSupport Core
6″Polyester1″ memory foam
1″ polyfoam
4″ polyfoam
8″Polyester2″ memory foam
2″ Polyfoam
4″ polyfoam
10″Polyester2.5″ memory foam
2″ polyfoam
5.5″ polyfoam
12″Polyester3″ memory foam
2″ polyfoam
7″ polyfoam

How Much Does the Zinus Green Tea Mattress Cost?

The typical price for an all-foam, queen size mattress is about $1,000. This means that the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress has a price-point well below average regardless of the model and size you choose. The price varies by height, with the 6-inch model being the least expensive option.

SizesDimensions6″ price8″ price10″ price12″ price
Twin39″ x 75″$169$189$219$249
Twin XL38″ x 80″N/A$252N/AN/A
Full54″ x 75″$229$269$309$369
Short queen60″ x 75″$209$279N/AN/A
Queen60″ x 80″$239$279$349$429
King76″ x 80″N/A$359$489$539
California king72″ x 84″N/AN/AN/A$549

Which Zinus Mattress Is Right for You?

Zinus has an extensive line of hybrid and memory foam mattresses. All of the company’s beds have affordable price-points and various options to customize your sleep experience.

In addition to the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress, Zinus offers several other mattresses that include a green tea infusion. The Cooling Green Tea Gel Memory Foam Mattress contains an initial layer of gel memory foam designed for a cooler sleep. The Green Tea Luxe Memory Foam Mattress infuses every layer with green tea and includes a layer of zoned polyfoam engineered for enhanced pressure relief.

Where Can You Buy the Zinus Green Tea Mattress?

You can purchase the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress from Zinus’ website. Zinus products are also available from third-party retailers like Amazon, Walmart, and Target.

Buying Information and Customer Policies
ShippingShipping through the brand’s website is free to customers in the contiguous U.S. The company does not currently ship to Alaska or Hawaii.

Mattresses are compressed in a box and wrapped in plastic for shipping. It takes 72 hours for the mattress to fully decompress.
Additional ServicesZinus does not offer additional services like in-home setup or old mattress removal, except to customers in California as required by state law.
Sleep TrialMattress purchases include a 100-night sleep trial. Mattresses returned during the trial period are eligible for a full refund.
WarrantyA 10-year limited warranty covers mattress purchases made through the Zinus website or authorized retailers. The warranty covers defects in craftsmanship and materials, including permanent foam indentations of 1.5 inches or more. If an issue arises, the company will issue a prorated refund or replace the product.

Zinus Green Tea Mattress FAQ

What does green tea do in a memory foam mattress?

It’s common for mattress brands to infuse layers of foam with compounds that add unique qualities or features. According to Zinus, the green tea infusion in its memory foam is designed to reduce odor by absorbing moisture.

Is the Zinus Green Tea Mattress good for back pain?

Our testers found that the 10-inch and 12-inch options outperformed the thinner models for pressure relief, particularly for side and back sleepers under 130 pounds. This feature may help lessen back pain and other body aches by keeping the spine in proper alignment.

Are Zinus mattresses good quality?

Despite their low prices, Zinus mattresses include quality materials, including foams that are certified by CertiPUR-US as being free of harmful chemicals and having safe levels of indoor emissions. Our testers estimate that the 10- and 12-inch versions of the Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress will last around six to seven years, while the 6- and 8-inch options may have a slightly shorter lifespan.

About The Author

Katie Kottemann

Staff Writer, Sleep Products


Katie is a writer, editor, and researcher based in Englewood, Colorado. With a doctorate in English from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, she has written and edited for Peterson’s and Innerbody Research as well as been a writing professor. Katie is passionate about helping consumers make more informed choices.

  • POSITION: Side Sleeper
  • TEMPERATURE: Hot Sleeper
  • CHRONOTYPE: Dolphin

Ask the Sleep Doctor

Have questions about sleep? Submit them here! We use your questions to help us decide topics for articles, videos, and newsletters. We try to answer as many questions as possible. You can also send us an emailPlease note, we cannot provide specific medical advice, and always recommend you contact your doctor for any medical matters.