Sleep Doctor independently selects the products we test. We may earn a commission if you buy through the links on our site.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Review: Ideal for Hot Sleepers

UPDATED

Written by Jamie DiGiovanni

Reviewed by Dr. Michael Breus

Expert Tested

Table of Contents

Mattress Review

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe

Details

  • Type: Hybrid

  • Firmness: Medium Soft (4), Medium Firm (6), Firm (7)

  • Sizes: Twin, Twin XL, Full, Queen, King, California King, Custom Sizes

  • Price Range: $749 – $1,699

  • Warranty: 10 Year, Limited

Highlights

  • Hybrid design with zoned coil system for optimal support and contouring
  • Cooling technology engineered to keep the bed a comfortable temperature
  • Available in three firmness levels to fit different sleep styles

Drawbacks

  • Soft and medium options do not feel as stable when lying or sitting near the edges
  • Slight odor when you first remove the mattress from the shipping box
  • Soft option doesn’t provide enough support for stomach sleepers over 230 pounds

Sleep Doctor’s Take: Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress

With its multiple cooling features and three firmness options, the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Luxe Cooling Mattress appealed to nearly all of our testers. Thick foam layers provide ample contouring, while zoned pocketed coils cradle more deeply for notable pressure relief and spinal support. 

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress: An Introduction

Brooklyn Bedding got its start in 1995, rising to prominence in 2008 as an early adopter of the mattress-in–box approach. The company now produces over a dozen models to meet different needs and preferences. 

The Aurora Luxe is a high-profile hybrid mattress that measures a little over 13 inches thick. It consists of a memory foam and polyfoam comfort system with a zoned pocketed coil core. A key feature of the Aurora Luxe is its unique cooling technology, which is designed to keep the surface at a comfortable temperature. The model is available in three firmness options: soft, medium, and firm.

We’ll walk you through the Aurora Luxe’s features and discuss how they affect performance in areas like temperature and pressure relief. We’ll also review which kinds of sleepers are likely to be the most comfortable on the Aurora Luxe so you can decide if it’s the best mattress for your needs.

How We Review

Our team of sleep experts conducts hands-on testing of the mattresses we review, including the Aurora Luxe. Our testing methodology helps us rate mattresses on their performance in several different categories. These findings translate into knowledge that you can use to choose a mattress that best suits you.

Also make sure to check out our review of the Brooklyn Bedding Signature.

What’s It Like to Sleep on the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress?

The Aurora Luxe’s thick comfort system and zoned coils provide solid pressure relief without sacrificing support or temperature control. Our testers who sleep on their side reported that this construction helped take the pressure off their shoulders and hips while also promoting good posture.

Our testers particularly appreciated the cooling technology in the Aurora Luxe’s cover and top comfort layer. This construction led to very little heat buildup during our temperature neutrality tests, which means this mattress is likely to keep hot sleepers comfortable throughout the night.

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Hybrid design offers the benefits of a conforming comfort layer and a responsive coil system
  • Features materials designed for cooling
  • Coil system has three firmness zones for targeted support

Cons

  • Performance varies between firmness options
  • May emit an off-gassing odor when first unpacked
  • Higher price-point than many Brooklyn Bedding models

Sleeping Positions, Body Weight, and Firmness

We rate mattresses on a 10-point firmness scale, with 1 being the softest and 10 being the firmest. The Aurora Luxe comes in three firmness options that correspond to medium soft (4), medium firm (6), and firm (7) on our scale.

No firmness level is ideal for all sleepers. That’s why we take into consideration many factors that can influence firmness preference, such as body weight and sleep position. We do this by having a diverse group of testers provide feedback on every model we review. 

Aurora Mattress – Soft

Firmness: Medium Soft (4)

Under 130 lbs.130-230 lbs.Over 230 lbs.
Side Sleepers5/53/52/5
Back Sleepers5/52/52/5
Stomach Sleepers3/52/51/5

Aurora Mattress – Medium

Firmness: Medium Firm (6)

Under 130 lbs.130-230 lbs.Over 230 lbs.
Side Sleepers3/55/53/5
Back Sleepers5/54/53/5
Stomach Sleepers5/53/52/5

Aurora Mattress – Firm

Firmness: Firm (7)

Under 130 lbs.130-230 lbs.Over 230 lbs.
Side Sleepers2/52/55/5
Back Sleepers2/54/55/5
Stomach Sleepers2/55/55/5

Side Sleepers

Our side sleepers’ experiences varied based on their body weight. While the Aurora Luxe’s ample comfort system relieved pressure around their hips and shoulders, the right firmness was essential to balancing support and contouring. Testers under 130 pounds gave the highest rating to the medium soft (4) option. Those weighing between 130 and 230 pounds preferred the medium firm (6), and sleepers over 230 pounds liked the firm (7) version’s extra support. 

Back Sleepers

Most of our back sleepers felt comfortable on at least one firmness level of the Aurora Luxe Mattress. Those under 130 pounds gave both the medium soft (4) and medium firm (6) options excellent marks. Testers weighing between 130 and 230 pounds enjoyed the medium firm and firm (7) versions of the bed. Those over 230 pounds were most comfortable on the firm model, which provided enough support for good spinal alignment while also allowing for enough contouring to cradle the lower back.

Stomach Sleepers

Because stomach sleepers need extra support, our testers who sleep on their stomach generally favored the two firmer versions of the Aurora Luxe Mattress. Those who weigh less than 130 pounds gave an excellent rating to the medium firm (6) option, which balanced support with subtle cushioning. Our stomach sleepers who weigh more than 130 pounds particularly liked the firm model (7). Its more supportive construction prevented sagging around the midsection, which helped reduce pressure in the lower back.

Our Performance Ratings

We rate each performance area on a five-point scale ranging from 1 (poor) to 5 (excellent). The performance categories relate to the factors that generally matter most to sleepers, such as pressure relief and durability.

Pressure Relief

Rating: 4/5

Thanks to its generous polyfoam and memory foam comfort system, the Aurora Luxe provides strong pressure relief. Our testers reported that all three models provided enough contouring to reduce pressure buildup. Additionally, the pocketed coil core’s zoning provides extra support around the hips. We found that this effectively redistributed the weight of testers’ hips while preventing excessive sinkage. 

Temperature Neutrality

Rating: 3/5 (Soft), 4/5 (Medium, Firm)

The Aurora Luxe uses several kinds of cooling technology designed to appeal to hot sleepers. The GlacioTex cooling cover uses specially designed fibers intended to transfer heat from the body, while the CopperFlex foam in the top comfort layer uses a combination of copper and phase change material engineered to further dissipate heat. Our temperature readings showed that the medium firm and firm models did a slightly better job keeping cool than the softer model. Ultimately, though, the Aurora Luxe is a great choice for those who tend to sleep hot but appreciate the hug of memory foam. 

Motion Isolation

Rating: 4/5 (Soft, Medium), 3/5 (Firm)

Because of its thick foam comfort system, the Aurora Luxe doesn’t transfer much motion across the bed. This feature may help you get a better night’s rest if you’re easily disturbed by your partner’s movements during the night. We noticed that the soft and medium models absorbed motion a bit better than the firm model, which we attribute to the extra memory foam in their comfort systems. However, overall, our testers agreed that the Aurora Luxe’s stable sleep surface is a highlight for couples.

Edge Support

Rating: 3/5 (Soft/Medium), 4/5 (Firm)

The Aurora Luxe provides good edge support, likely because of its reinforced perimeter. Sturdy coils along the sides prevent significant compression, so our testers could sit or lie near the edge of the mattress without feeling unstable. We found that the firm model’s edges felt the most supportive, which may be something to consider if you like to use the full surface of the mattress or have mobility concerns when getting into or out of bed. 

Durability

Rating: 4/5

Based on its materials and construction, the Aurora Luxe is likely to meet or exceed the average lifespan of a hybrid model, which is around seven to eight years. The Aurora Luxe uses high-quality foam and individually encased steel coils, both of which usually hold up well. That said, mattress durability varies depending on usage and maintenance. 

Ease of Movement

Rating: 3/5 (Soft), 4/5 (Medium, Firm)

Our testers were impressed with how easy it was to change positions and get into and out of bed while testing the Aurora Luxe. The soft model allowed more sinkage than the firmer options, which earned it a slightly lower rating. However, we found that all three firmness options did a good job of facilitating movement, thanks to the responsiveness of the coil core. 

Sex

Rating: 3/5 (Soft), 4/5 (Medium/Firm)

The Aurora Luxe’s balance of support and responsiveness makes it well suited to sex. The comfort system provides good cushioning, while the bounce of the coil core should prevent couples from feeling trapped in the bed. Due to the Aurora Luxe’s features designed for temperature regulation, the surface may also trap less heat than similarly constructed models.

That said, we noted that the softer model is slightly more difficult to move on and a little more prone to heat retention. These factors may make it less optimal for sex than the firmer versions.  

Off-Gassing

Rating: 3/5

Many mattresses have a slight odor when you first unpack them, and this is true of the Aurora Luxe as well. The smell is due to the release of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from the foam layers. VOC-related odors are generally considered harmless and usually go away after a few days. You may want to unbox the Aurora Luxe in a well-ventilated area in order to help the smell dissipate more quickly.

What Is the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Made Of?

product image of the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress layers

The Aurora Luxe Mattress contains a combination of high-quality materials designed for comfort, support, and temperature regulation. 

The built-in GlacioTex cooling cover is engineered to feel cool on contact. Next, a three-layer comfort system adds contouring and support. Each firmness option starts with a layer of CopperFlex polyfoam infused with phase change material and copper designed for temperature regulation. The second comfort layer uses memory foam for contouring. For the third layer, the medium soft (4) and medium firm (6) versions contain memory foam for added pressure relief. The firm (7) option uses polyfoam for greater support.

A zoned pocketed coil core balances cradling and support. Sturdier coils in the center third help promote good sleep posture, while a reinforced perimeter expands the usable surface area. Underneath, a high-density polyfoam base provides additional support.

For an additional charge, buyers can add on a pillow-top to make the mattress’ surface more plush. 

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Construction Layers

Cover MaterialGlacioTex 
Comfort Layers1.5” CopperFlex Polyfoam
1.5”-2” Memory Foam
1” Gel Swirl Memory Foam (Soft and Medium Only)
1.5” VariFlex Transition Polyfoam (Firm Only)
Support Core8” Pocketed Coils (Zoned)
.75” High-Density Polyfoam 

How Much Does the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress Cost?

The Aurora Luxe’s price is on par with other hybrids on the market. It falls in between the price-points of Brooklyn Bedding’s standard and premium models. Each size of the Aurora Luxe costs the same regardless of the firmness level. However, adding the optional pillow-top increases the price. 

The Aurora Luxe Mattress is a good value for many shoppers because of its broad appeal. It hits the mark if you’re looking for a balance of contouring, support, bounce, and temperature regulation.    

SizesPriceDimensionsHeightWeight
Twin$99938” x 74” 13.25”60 lbs. 
Twin XL$1,23238” x 80”13.25”65 lbs.
Full$1,59953” x 75” 13.25”85 lbs.
Queen$1,86560” x 80” 13.25”105 lbs.
King$2,26576” x 80” 13.25”130 lbs.
California King$2,26572” x 84” 13.25”130 lbs.
Split California King$1,232 (Per Piece)36” x 84” (Per Piece)13.25”65 lbs. (Per Piece)
Short Queen$1,86560” x 74” 13.25”100 lbs.
RV King$2,26572” x 80” 13.25”120 lbs.
RV Bunk$1,59942” x 80” 13.25”85 lbs.

Which Brooklyn Bedding Mattress Is Right for You?

In addition to the Aurora Luxe, Brooklyn Bedding offers several other mattress models. While many of these are hybrids like the Aurora Luxe, they vary in their materials, features, firmness options, and pricing. Which model is best for you depends on your needs, preferences, and budget.

For example, if you’re looking for a more premium model, the Sedona Elite and the Spartan contain enhanced technology designed for comfort and cooling. On the other hand, budget shoppers may appreciate the pared-down design of the Signature Hybrid. If you prefer natural materials, the EcoSleep Luxe or the Bloom may be better options because of their breathable and buoyant natural latex comfort systems. 

Brooklyn Bedding Mattresses at a Glance

ModelFirmnessMattress TypeHeightBase Price (Queen)
Signature HybridMedium Soft (4), Medium Firm (6), Firm (8)Hybrid11.5”$1,332
Aurora LuxeMedium Soft (4), Medium Firm (6), Firm (7)Hybrid13.25”$1,865
EcoSleep Luxe Medium (5), Firm (7)Hybrid11.5”$1,874
SpartanMedium Soft (4), Medium Firm (6), Firm (7)Hybrid13.5”$1,999
Sedona EliteMedium (5)Hybrid14”$2,399
BloomMedium (5), Firm (7)Hybrid14”$1,999

Discounts and Coupons

Brooklyn Bedding offers frequent discounts on the Aurora Luxe. While you may encounter special offers throughout the year, they’re particularly common during holidays, like Memorial Day and Black Friday.

Where Can You Buy the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress

The Aurora Luxe is available through the Brooklyn Bedding website and Amazon. Brooklyn Bedding mattresses are also sold at brick-and-mortar retail partners in select cities throughout the U.S. 

Purchases through the Brooklyn Bedding website are eligible for the sleep trial and direct-to-consumer pricing. Note that if you buy the Aurora Luxe through any other vendor, you may be subject to different policies.

Buying Information and Customer Policies
AvailabilityYou can buy the Aurora Luxe through the Brooklyn Bedding website, Amazon, or select brick-and-mortar mattress retailers. Orders through the Brooklyn Bedding website ship to the U.S. and Canada. 
ShippingPurchases from the Brooklyn Bedding website ship free within the contiguous U.S. Charges apply for orders to Alaska, Hawaii, and Canada.

Each mattress is wrapped in plastic, rolled, and sealed in a shipping box. To unpack the mattress, bring the box to the room where you intend to use it. Open the box, slide out the mattress, and carefully remove the plastic. The mattress immediately begins to expand but will take about 24 hours to reach its full size and shape. 
Sleep TrialFor purchases directly through its website, Brooklyn Bedding offers a 120-night sleep trial. You must wait 30 days from the delivery date to begin your return. There is a $99 removal fee for mattress returns. 
WarrantyA 10-year warranty covers mattress defects that arise during normal use, including indentations over 1 inch deep, splitting, cracking, and deterioration. 

Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress FAQ

Is the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora good for couples?

The Aurora Luxe is a good choice for couples because of its motion isolation, responsiveness, and edge support. You’re not likely to feel your partner’s movements throughout the night, thanks to this model’s ability to absorb vibrations. At the same time, the bounce of the coil core facilitates movement, and the sturdy edges allow you to use the full surface of the mattress.

Where is the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora Mattress made?

The Aurora Luxe is made in Brooklyn Bedding’s Phoenix, Arizona factory.

Does the Brooklyn Bedding Aurora need a box spring?

The Aurora Luxe is compatible with nearly any support system that doesn’t flex, including most box spring, platform, and slat foundations.

About The Author

Jamie DiGiovanni

Staff Writer, Sleep Health


Jamie is a freelance writer who has worked in the healthcare field for more than 20 years. Based in Essex Fells, New Jersey, Jamie has also written for Men’s Health Magazine and MCS Healthcare, a healthcare communications agency. With a degree in English and communications from Muhlenberg College, Jamie is skilled at diving into medical research, identifying key findings, issues, and trends, and clearly and effectively communicating those. Jamie is passionate about living a healthy lifestyle, which includes cooking healthy meals for her husband and two daughters, taking long walks with her two dogs, and playing a lot of tennis.

  • POSITION: Side Sleeper
  • TEMPERATURE: Neutral Sleeper
  • CHRONOTYPE: Dolphin

Ask the Sleep Doctor

Have questions about sleep? Submit them here! We use your questions to help us decide topics for articles, videos, and newsletters. We try to answer as many questions as possible. You can also send us an emailPlease note, we cannot provide specific medical advice, and always recommend you contact your doctor for any medical matters.